This week was terrible. Well, at least the weekend.

To be truthful, I have been sick in my stomach for the past 4 and half months, or exactly the amount of time I’ve been in Ecuador. It’s never stopped in pretty much this whole time. Some days have been better than others, but I’ve basically been in some kind of pain my whole mission. Fun right. It got even better this weekend.

Friday night I woke up 8 times to use the bathroom. I didn’t sleep at all.

We went to the Zone Conference, where I felt terrible. I left to use the bathroom then talked with Hermana Johns, who called the doctor who gave me even more meds. I went to him the monday before, and nothing he gave me helped. So I ended up using the bathroom 5 times in about 3 or 4 hours. It was terrible.

But I did get a blessing of health from President Johns, and then I got to talk for him a while and he gave me some words of comfort. The told me they are going to get me feeling better and that I’m not going to have to go home. I’ve been scared of going home due to medical issues practically since the beginning of my mission because I’ve been so sick. So they’re going to work hard to fix me up. So I just layed there until the conference was over, talked with President and Sister Johns for a little bit about what they’re going to do to help me, then we went home.

The bus ride home was terrible. I thought I was going to die haha. I almost threw up and went to the bathroom right there on the bus haha. Sorry for the detail, but it’s all part of the story. So we get home and I just go to bed. I was in bed ALL DAY. I had to use the bathroom countless times. I got a temperature, which spiked up to 101.7.. I thought I was going to die. I finally slept at night, and then I had to get up and go to church. I just sat there doing nothing and feeling like I was about to die for the three hours, then I went and rested at a members house, then he had to leave, so I had to walk a mile to the Branch Presidents house and then I stayed there until the night time when we had the Christmas devotional. My companion left with a member to preach all of Sunday. But I just stayed in the house of members wanting to die. We went to the devotional and watched that then finally went home and I slept. Woo hoo! My temperature left Sunday, so that was good.

Monday, or today, we went to the doctor, who checked me out again and said that all my exams came out clean, so he has no idea what’s going on basically, so he just threw more medicine at me, hoping that it will work. So right now I’m loaded up on medicine and still feel rather bad. My body is just weak and I have body pains all over. Never thought the mission would be like this.

So why to I tell you all this? Well, because nothing else interesting happened to me this week haha and also because I have learned a lot about the gospel and Christ through all of this. Christ has suffered EVERYTHING that we have suffered. Not just our sins, but our afflictions, our sicknesses, everything. I never really realized that before. But through this whole time, I have come to trust in him, and I have felt the love God has for me. He has felt all this pain that I have had, and I’ve felt the Spirit in times of my worst pain, which has alieviated the pain enough to make it berable. God isn’t going to totally take away my pain right now, but like the people of Alma, he’s going to lighten the burden. That is the power of the Atonement. I’ve learned to be more compassionate on those who are sick, and I want to help them more. I’ve learned how to feel the Spirit as the Comforter. I’ve learned that we can turn to Christ at any time, and he’s going to help us. So yeah, this experience has been hard, but I’ve learned a ton. And also, God will always pay us back for what we’ve suffered, even for more than what we suffered for. So I’m looking forward to the blessings in the future haha.

Anyways, keep me in your prayers. I need the help.

Love you all,
Elder Lane D. Sawyer

Leave a Reply

